Mock at Sorrow

Mock at sorrow!

(by C.V. Subramaniam)

It has now become a habit with me, whenever I get bored, to open my iPad and do something. Even when my mind is blank, once I open it, it will open the window gates to my mind and some breezy stuff could blow out through that opening.

Well, I have almost forgotten that I was thinking of writing about sorrow and how to mock at it. Who would not have experienced sorrow at some time or the other in his or her life. Life is full of sorrow, someone might say. Even the so-called happy-go-lucky guys would have sorrows. I have had my own quota of sorrows In life. . But one thing, sorrows also don’t stick to someone alone for a long time. It has to catch someone, one after another, who may be feeling how happy I am always. Happiness also will not hug,so to say, someone for long. It is all finally, in the thinking of the person.

In the famous Elegy of Thomas Gray, he mourns for those poor villagers who have perhaps all kinds of sorrows, and perhaps have not enjoyed any happiness at all. It is a poem full of sorrows of the poor. In this particular stanza, Gray mourns

For them,no more the blazing hearths shall burn
Or the busy housewife ply her evening care
No children run to lisp their sire’s return
Or climb his knees the envied kiss to share

You begin to feel sorry and start crying too. There are ever so many poor, unwanted, uncared for, abandoned, destitute in this world, for whom perhaps the whole life is full of miseries only.

Who doesn’t have sorrow. Mary Correlli had written on the Sorrows of Satan; take my own case, the unlimited and continuous sorrows inflicted on me by my colleagues in my office on a crucial matter concerning my own future livelihood, post-retirement,the government’s bounty, the pension, which determines your lifestyle thereafter, made me write a poem on Sorrows of Subbu, which made even some others, my colleagues and Mr. Vittal (then Secretary of the Department of Electronics) for one, feel sorry for myself and sympathize with me. Perhaps, it was God’s intervention (I have written on some other page on this), which turned the case in favor of me. Today, I just laugh at the whole episode, as if to compensate for the sorrows i had then and the much feared final verdict.

You must, of course laugh at sorrows, since, as Shakespeare says: gnarling sorrow hath less power to bite the man that mocks at it. When sorrow overcomes you remember this advice of Shakespeare. And,

There comes a time in life
When there is nothing else to do
But to go your own way

And, I would add, that is the best possible way.

About cvsubramaniam

Former Director, Department of Electronics & Informatiin Technology, Government of India.. Authored Book on Human Resource Management. Published 80 plus articles on HR, Management, S&T, general topics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

